BMoCA | 2009


In contrast to the historic building, the design inserts modern elements creating space by drawing off the location of the northern window. The design uses this window to showcase the natural light revealing the space in different ways throughout the day and over the course of the changing seasons. This natural light also helps define the space in the entry and museum store. Making a connection to Colorado and addressing issues of sustainability, the new design uses salvaged and recycled materials when appropriate.

2009 Gold Hard Hat Award, Outstanding Small Project
2009 Historic Boulder Preservation Award
Erin Anglin
Ashley Anderson
Andrew Atchley
Mark Brunner
Timothy Clinefelter
Bill Daher
Justin Feider
Lauren Fowler
Aris Garrison
Randall Hatley
Ryan Jensen
Tracy Joda
Emili Mcmakin
William Mensching
Michael Nulty
John Ostrander
Lee Parmenter
Rebecca Roberts
Heather Scott
Robert Stroud
Michael Sullivan
Jerod Wilson
Maximillian Zurek

University of Colorado Denver:
Rick Sommerfeld
Rob Pyatt

Structural Engineer:
Christopher O’Hara - Principal
Studio NYL Structural Engineers

Broomfield Sheet Metal Inc.
Slade Glass 
Matt Buckner 
Kirk McDonald

College of Architecture and Planning

CU Denver

CU Denver Building

1250 14th Street


Denver, CO 80202


CMS Login