Wiley School provides public education for Wiley School District RE-13-Jt from Kindergarten through 12th grade. The original schoolhouse, known as the Rock School House, sits behind the current Wiley School building. The Rock School House was built in 1938 as a WPA project and is currently rented out for community activities and private events. School administration was interested in making improvements to the schoolyard that would increase its use both during and after school hours.
CCCD students had a particular challenge in their preliminary design work as the pervasive use of pea gravel on the playground made it difficult for ADA accessibility, snow removal and providing a safe surface for active play. The local task force gathered input from Wiley School students through photo surveys and site drawings as to what students wanted in the schoolyard master plan. The collaborative effort resulted in a plan that reflects the unique history, culture and curriculum of Wiley School.